BowFishing Country banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,427 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am no expert but I get hammered almost weekly on FB and text on how I did my lighting... I am sure this is on here already but when I get asked I can just send this link moving forward...lol also if any experts want to share there thoughts go for it...

Digital Light Setup
I have put this in the order you would assemble. Pictures provided are what products I used and work for me. I have $165.00 in each light setup.

1st Housings… Custom housing are the way to go… there are several guys around the county that make these and range in price from $65.00 to $100.00, they are pretty much a alum box with an alum framed door with glass… some come painted white inside already (been proven to show the light bounces off the white better than bare alum or polished alum… some have hinges/latches and some have rivnuts / bolts… If you want to just be a dirt azz then go buy some Alum mud pans from HD… (they work just fine) or you can sweet talk your buddy that can break alum sheet and weld to make you some… how many is up to you… 4 housings set at 400w have plenty of coverage for my 7 x 7ft deck…

Lamps or Bulbs - 1st off I want to say you get what you pay for… if you buy a name brand well repeatable bulb you’re going to get something that will hold up to the abuse and vibration… these lamps where not meant to be put on vehicles… also a little high temp silicone on the thread base and socket will keep them from backing out… HPS are a Warm Orange glow and best for muddy water… MH are a brite white glow and best for clear water… when shopping for lamps be sure to get a pulse start type and something that is a universal burn position…

Lamp Socket or Mogul Base Size (E39) – you will bolt this to the housing… your lamp or bulb will screw into this… comes with two wires and you will want to drill a hole in the housing so those wires can come out and be tied to the lamp cord.