BowFishing Country banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a friend who has been bowfishing with me for many years but he just had open heart surgery and is now in recovery. Thinking to the near future I am sure that he will not be abe to pull back on a bow for quite some time. I am thinking that maybe a cross bow would help. It would have to be low draw weight cause we fish shallow with our bow set at no more than 40 pounds or the arrows would go too deep in the mud. I have no knowledge or experiances with crossbows. Can anyone help me wirh infor or suggestions on what I would need or if they make a low draw weight cross bow.

·
Premium Member
902 Posts
not gonna be much help but i do remember somebody making a set up to put a reel on a crossbow ... i don't remember the company tho ..... is he not gonna be able to pull at all like a kids bow or did you plan on cocking the crossbow for him?

·
Registered
2,074 Posts
I know for sure ams has a crossbow kit. As far as finding a cross bow that won't bury an arrow... Not sure. i'm not a crossbow guy. But im sure the internet has the answer

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I don't think he will be able to pull back at all for a while so I plan to cock it back for him, I did see the crossbow kit on the internet but I haven't found a crossbow with a low draw weight. Seems like there has to be one out there or a way to adjust one

·
Premium Member
902 Posts
I know for sure ams has a crossbow kit. As far as finding a cross bow that won't bury an arrow... Not sure. i'm not a crossbow guy. But im sure the internet has the answer
I had a hunch it was them but i wasn't sure ... i have been looking at pull back stuff and arrow velocity and its making my head hurt its not apples to apples

·
Premium Member
902 Posts
i think we need something in the 150 to 200 fps arrow speed range best i can tell thats a general average for bows with 35-40 lbs draw

·
Registered
2,074 Posts