BowFishing Country banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been shooting an AMS reel for a few years now and have gotten a lot of fish with it. However this year we built a new boat and are moving a lot faster on the water and the AMS is definitely a little slow on the retrieval. I bought my father a muzzy reel a few years back and he loves it. He has lost a few arrows but it seems he can retrieve faster than me and he's in his 60's. I also just bought my girlfriend an AMS tournament pro a few months ago and I don't see too much of and increase in speed over my older AMS. I have been debating on switching for a while now and have even acquired a zebco 808 from a friend. Should I just try the zebco out and see if I like it or should I go and buy a muzzy reel?

·
Registered
357 Posts
The 808 will work but the muzzys seem more durable and better quality. Try it out and if u like it buy a muzzy and have that 808 as a backup

·
Registered
236 Posts
Is it the new 808 or the older one. Either way it is bound to fail sooner or later. I'd switch up for a ti20. You can buy 4 for the price of one muzzy.

·
Registered
20 Posts
ti-20 if you want something cheap to try, just do the modifications to it, but muzzy is built for this sport. I was a bottle shot till I shot a spinner, now the only reason I got back is for certain situations otherwise spinner all the way.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the advice, I definitely want to go with something that will last. My AMS has gone through hell and back and still works every time. I am still curious if the muzzy retrieves faster than the zebco and other reels. I have both the older and newer 808's, I planned on using them as backups or letting friends use them if they wanted to come out and fish. Also I was curious if there was any difference between the newer and older muzzy reels?

·
Registered
20 Posts