BowFishing Country banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok airboaters. I recently purchased a 17ft Panther with a 383 stroker and 78" 2 blade whisper tip prop. We took it out the other night and fished for 4 hrs and never got above 2000 rpms we put in close to where we fish so didnt need to go fast. In four hrs of easy use we burned 20+ gal of premium fuel. Is this normal? Seems excessive to me but I'm new to this. I didn't expect airboating to be cheap but i was kind of hoping a 40gal tank would last long enough to shoot a tournament.

·
Registered
1,893 Posts
On subject of fuel but off subject of airboat... I got a deal this summer (I thought) on a late model Larson Ski boat with a 1979 200 Evinrude. Took it out tubing and skiing... less than 2 hours later, gauge says empty. Added high dollar fuel at a Marina to get back to dock and check it out... no leaks, no issues.

I go to camper and Goggle consumption... rule of thumb is 10% of HP in Gallons "per hour" at or near wide open throttle (WOT). I filled it up and tried again, yep, 20 gallons an hour pulling tubbers and not at WOT.

Luckily, got a good deal and turned it the next week for what I had in it. So if math matches, 350hp motor would burn 35 gal an hour at or near WOT, 20 gal at 4 hours at 2K RPM may not be too far off.

·
Registered
2,410 Posts
It cost us a min of $100 a night fishing like you're talking about in our airboat it was a 18x8 with a 502 and a 60 gal tank

·
Registered
1,879 Posts
Ok airboaters. I recently purchased a 17ft Panther with a 383 stroker and 78" 2 blade whisper tip prop. We took it out the other night and fished for 4 hrs and never got above 2000 rpms we put in close to where we fish so didnt need to go fast. In four hrs of easy use we burned 20+ gal of premium fuel. Is this normal? Seems excessive to me but I'm new to this. I didn't expect airboating to be cheap but i was kind of hoping a 40gal tank would last long enough to shoot a tournament.