BowFishing Country banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have two Disco 2's and have had problems with both. Every now and then they sounded like they dry fired. The arrow would somewhat shoot but not much. Very loud sound. Others on the boat would ask what happened. No problems with the bow just a miss fire.
Then I had a cable slide pop off when this happened. Also, it was breaking knocks. Brought it in to a reputable service shop to have it looked at. They said seeing I had finger savers and only one knock the arrow knock might be getting pinched. And if the knock was not fully seated it would act as a dry fire and it could break the knock and pop the cable slide off.
So after them installing two knocks it was back to the water. It will shoot fine for a trip or two then the same thing. This time the cable or string popped off. So install that and a few times out and same thing.
So after much thought I have a few ideas but I'm a novice.
1. I wax both the cable and string. I even pull back and wax the string that goes around the cam. I have read not to do that. So will either of these cause my problem.
2. Last night it happened on a very close side shot. The kind that are so close to the boat you kind of have to reach out with both arms away from your body to shot. Could it be I'm twisting the bow and this is causing it? I'm not sure it was this type of shot on all the other times but I know it was a few of them.
3. Either it's the bow, setup or me doing something wrong.
I have had this happen on two,different bows. Strings only came off on one the last two times out.
I need some input. I'm bringing two bows every time out because something always happens. Help?
I know I'm not hitting the limbs on anything . I would have to bend down way to far to have that happen and no marks on the limbs.

·
Premium Member
7,659 Posts